AFSAI accepts applicants from 18 to 35 years old, but exceptions for older applicants are possible. The volunteers usually have community placement and social work activities.
Placements in Italy are possible in alternative living situation (community). Placements in host families are very rare and possible only in very exceptional cases.  In Italy volunteers could be placed both in Northern, Central and Southern Italy as well as in the two main islands: Sardinia and Sicily.
Most of our placements are based in small villages, surrounded by nature and nice fileds. 

AFSAI HOSTING PROGRAMME OFFERS

  • Collection at airport or at the train station. The arrival airport change according to the placement;   
  • Placement in a local project;
  • Accommodation at the project and food 7 days per week;
  • Volunteers Orientation via skype with AFSAI staff.
  • Project orientation upon arrival and ongoing support from project mentor;
  • Ongoing support from AFSAI office;
  • Emergency support from AFSAI office (24/7);
  • Certificates (if required);
  • Visa support information (if necessary);
  • Invitation to any training organized by AFSAI with International Volunteers (usually 3 a year)

ACTIVITIES

Volunteers will work 35 hours per week for all projects FROM MONDAY TO FRIDAY. The volunteering shifts might vary according to hosting project needs. Week-ends (Saturdays and Sundays) are usually free. If the participant is asked to volunteer on Saturdays and Sundays s/he can have 2 free days the following week. Only Farms ask the volunteers to volunteer also on Saturdays mornings, but volunteering hours are always 35 per week. 

Referente

Aurora Caruso
+39 06 5370332
steps@afsai.it 

FIELD: Kids

TOWN: Imperia (Liguria Region, North of Italy) 

We are a family-based “organization” is a foster home active since 1998, based in the outskirts of Imperia that hosts disadvantaged minors up to 10 years old . Most of our kids come from difficult familiar background and are assigned to our family by the Juvenile Court.

The kids live with us until they are given a definite family or are allowed to come back to their previous family.

They usually stay with us for some months or sometimes for a year. We can host maximum 5 minors. In addition to them, we have also our 2 kids who currently (2006) are 15 and 17 years old and an adopted young girl affected by a cognitive disability.

 

Conditions

VOLUNTEERS TASKS

The volunteer will be helping us in looking after all our kids, helping them in doing their homework and in any extracurricular activities, if needed.

We ask the volunteer to support us when we drive them to school or to go with them to attend any other activities after school.

Last but not least, we wish the volunteer to help us in daily house cores ( es. laying the table, supporting in cooking, hanging clothes, ironing them…). The volunteer will be part of our family and we wish she could participate in all aspect of our daily life.

BOARD AND LODGING

The volunteer will be living with us. She will have her own room. Our family will offer the volunteer 3 meals and snacks for the whole stay. 

DESCRIPTION OF LOCAL TRANSPORTS

We are based in a “borgo” in the outskirts of Imepria, 15 minutes far from the centre by bus.

INTERNET ACCESS

Wi-Fi is only available in the foster home. 

VOLUNTEER’S PROFILE

We are looking for a motivated non smoker girl (In our family there are 3 people suffering from asthma). The volunteer should be responsible and open –minded. We do not ask the volunteer to have any previous experience in working with kids, but we ask her to have a deep motivation in dealing with them.

DURATION

We prefer to host volunteers for a minimun stay of 8 weeks.

AVAILABILITY 

We can host all year. 

 

 

 

Departures - Projects